Press release no. 05/24 of 12. Februar 2024

Repeat of the 2021 Bundestag election: provisional result

WIESBADEN/BERLIN – Taking into consideration the results of the 2021 Bundestag election that was repeated in parts of Berlin, the Federal Returning Officer newly announced the provisional result of the overall election to the 20th German Bundestag on 12 February 2024 at 2:15 a.m. The 2021 election to the German Bundestag was repeated in 455 polling districts on 11 February 2024. Previously, the Federal Constitutional Court had declared the Bundestag election of 26 September 2021 invalid in these districts and ordered a repeat election.

With a nationwide voter turnout of 76.4 percent (2021: 76.6 percent), the parties obtained the following shares of all valid second votes in the whole of Germany:

Party Share of second votes
Repeat election 2024 Main election 2021
SPD 25,7 % 25.7 %
CDU 19.0 % 18.9 %
GRÜNE 14.7 % 14.8 %
FDP 11.4 % 11.5 %
AfD  10.4 % 10.3 %
CSU 5.2 % 5.2 %
DIE LINKE 4.9 % 4.9 %
SSW 0.1 % 0.1 %
Others 8.6 % 8.6 %

The share of invalid second votes was 0.9 percent (2021: 0.9%).

On account of these results, the number of seats in the German Bundestag decreases from 736 to 735. Based on the newly established official provisional election result, the political parties indicated below will have the following number of seats:

Partei Number of seats after calculation of seats
Repeat election 2024 Main election 2021
total including constituency seats total including constituency seats
SPD 206 121 206 121
CDU 152 98 152 98
GRÜNE 118 16 118 16
FDP 91 92
AfD 83 16 83 16
CSU 45 45 45 45
DIE LINKE 39 3 39 3
SSW 1 1

Due to the repeat election in parts of Berlin, the distribution of seats in the 20th German Bundestag changes as follows:

  • The FDP loses one seat in Berlin.
  • The SPD loses one seat in Berlin and wins one seat in Niedersachsen.
  • The GRÜNEN lose one seat in Berlin and win one seat in Nordrhein-Westfalen.
  • DIE LINKE loses one seat in Berlin and wins one seat in Hessen.

Arithmetically, the following representatives will lose their Bundestag seat for Berlin based on the provisional result:

  • Mr Lars Lindemann from the FDP
  • Ms Ana-Maria Trăsnea from the SPD
  • Ms Nina Stahr from the GRÜNEN
  • Mr Pascal Meiser from DIE LINKE

Based on the provisional result, the following candidates will be newly elected to the Bundestag:

  • Ms Angela Hohmann from the SPD in Niedersachsen 
  • Ms Franziska Krumwiede-Steiner from the GRÜNEN in Nordrhein-Westfalen
  • Ms Christine Buchholz from DIE LINKE in Hessen

The provisional results of the repeat election for the Federation, for Berlin and the Berlin polling districts as well as the names of the candidates provisionally elected can be found on the website of the Federal Returning Officer.

Final election result will be established on 1 March 2024

As a next step, the constituency returning officers in Berlin will verify the records of votes of the polling districts. Afterwards, the constituency electoral committees will establish the final results in the constituencies. The Land Electoral Committee will establish the final result for Berlin. In the remaining Länder, the results established by the constituency electoral committees and Land Electoral Committees in 2021 will remain unchanged. The Federal Electoral Committee continues to be bound by these established results.

The Federal Electoral Committee will newly determine the final overall result of the election to the 20th German Bundestag in a public session on 1 March 2024, 11:00 a.m. After this session, the final result will be announced. The Federal Elections Act stipulates that the Council of Elders of the German Bundestag must decide on the loss of membership of the Bundestag immediately after the session of the Federal Electoral Committee. The representatives concerned will leave the Bundestag with the decision of the Council of Elders.

Individuals who, as successors from the list of candidates, have become Bundestag members since the constituent session of the 20th German Bundestag will keep their seats after the overall election result has been established anew. However, in the process of newly establishing the overall election result nationwide, the individuals originally elected in 2021 will once again be confirmed as elected even though their seats have since been filled by successors. Successors are appointed if the individuals originally elected have died, are no longer eligible to stand for election, have refused to take their seat or have resigned their seat. When establishing the overall election result anew, the Federal Electoral Committee can decide to make reference to succession from the list for the individuals concerned.

Any resignation of party membership or change of party that took place after the admission of the list of candidates will not affect the establishment of the results by the Federal Electoral Committee. This also applies if an individual leaves a party or switches to another party after the repeat election but before the attainment of Bundestag membership. The individuals concerned will be declared to be elected for the parties for which they ran.

For more information please go to


Press office
tel: +49 611 75-3444